YOU ARE HERE (Thanks to Mother Earth)

earth

Thank you mother earth for all the work you’re doing to try to re-stabilize, revamp, recover from all I’ve done to you.  I know, there are no words of apology that could ever make amends for the outrageous disdain for which I’ve ravaged your land, your air, your water.   So I dare not ask for your forgiveness-it’s yours to give, if you wish to give it, perhaps one day, some day after I’ve transformed my apologies into action.   Know that I know that what I have done to you, I have also done to myself.   There I go again-beating myself up.  Again, again, again.  It’s time I started to truly love myself, to treat myself with the respect I deserve.  

More than respect, but with awe. Just take the human part of myself alone.  Look at this oversized brain:  15 million neurons- as many as there are stars in the milky way.  Incredible.  Look at what can come from all those multiferous electrifying lightening strikes: creativity and conflict, love and terror, comedy and contempt,  miracles and monstrosities.

The mistake I made was thinking this brain meant I was better than, bigger than, seperate from….anyone, anything, anywhere.   It’s like saying my brain is more important than my heart. Which as scientists have discovered, has it’s own brain anyways.  Maybe if I learned to think with my heart brain more, I wouldn’t have fucked up this bad.

So….Earth, mama, baby, darling, sweetie, look, I know, it sounds lame – but I’m sorry.  I mean it, this time, for real.  Is there anything I can do to make things right between us again?  I promise, Big Blue,  I’m gonna stop treating you bad like this. I’m gonna stop taking and start giving.  I’ll go to AA, I’ll get counseling, I’ll start meditating, I’ll have my head examined. I’ll learn to walk lightly, to leave no footprints, only beauty or nothing at all wherever I go. I’ll make it up to you, really, truly….I promise.

Are we still friends?  

Really?  We are?  Wow.  You sure?  

Thank you for giving me a second (or is it third?) chance. You won’t regret it!

I mean this: thank you, thank you, thank you for the air you give, the water you give, the food you give, the unbelievable, indescribable, inexplicable beauty of your vast diversity, from butterflies to sea anenomes, from multi-hued birds to leaping whales, from buddha babies to crustaceans, from meadows to mildew, from Mozart to Madonna, from Jesus to Johnny Rotten, from Beatles to beetles, from Ravi Shankar to penguins, all the endless variations of organic creativity, life exploding in all dimensions, from the center of the earth to the last wisps of breathable air, you blow me away with your gorgeousness. Thank you for still being there for me, for us, for all of us. We need you, we need you, we need you. You’re the only earth in the whole world. We love you, we love you, we love you. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

